Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 103

    The dome, a storm and Detelina

    August 2, 2023 in Scotland ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Today the sky is ominous, it could be a bit darker but not much and Detelina and I made a date to meet at the Dome restaurant at 12 noon. Later I got a message to say she was running late but I should order some tea and enjoy the ambiance of the place.

    I wasn't prepared for such a beautiful beautiful environment I believe Georgian all wood panelling, Gold and chandeliers, soft jazz music, waiters and waitresses in black waistcoats, trousers and white shirts and ties, white table cloths on tables, elegant, oh so elegant. Everything thought of here.

    A lovely woman took my soaking wet poncho and jacket while another led me through to our table. My what opulence! It certainly was a beautiful space to sit and reflect, catch up on myself after battling a severe gale force wind and rain to get here! Honestly people were being blown around the streets, taking cover under what arches they could find while I battled on determined to get to the restaurant.

    I was totally impressed when Detelina finally arrived how she commanded attention immediately. Dressed in a cream lace high necked, waisted dress with lace sleeves, and cream classic high heels she was a vision to behold. We were immediately stormed by waiters and she played the part like a queen. I had taken some flowers for her which she absolutely loved and got the attention of one of the waitresses to "please put my flowers in water for me until I go". I think the waitress was a bit taken back, but, after a slight pause said "ofcourse and would you like to order now?" to which Detelina replied, looking at myself " No, I think we'd like to catch up for a little while, thank you". "I'll come back in ten minutes, will that be OK" said the nonplussed waitress.

    I could only gawp at the absolute sense of entitlement Detelina portrayed. I would never have asked a wait staff to look after my flowers. I may have asked for more time to look at a menu, but Detelina gave the overall impression that she was in charge!! A very commanding young woman.

    The same thing happened after each course as well. After our soup course a waiter approached us again looking beseechingly at Detelina and giving her great eye contact, asking if we wanted coffee! Detelina looked at me quizzically then turning back to him replied "we'll wait until after dessert, thank you". He thought we were finished! Indeed one waiter took our cutlery away after the soup course, which took us an hour to complete!! When a waiter brought our main out he was puzzled as to where our cutlery was. Another hour went by as we ate our delicious roasted stuffed aubergine, chatting excitedly and trying to cover every single aspect of life since we last met four years ago.

    Eventually main course finished, the waitress asked if we would like coffee when Detelina enquired as to a dessert menu. Dessert ordered along with coffees, Detelina asked for a delay again as we sipped our water and chatted incessently over the next fifteen minutes. Our delicious vegan dessert and coffee over, we were beginning to slow down our conversation and contemplate the journey home. Detelina insisted on walking me to my bus and we hovered under her umbrella arm in arm to Princes St and my bus.

    We had forgotten the flowers! Later Detelina messaged to say she had remembered when she was half way home on the bus, got off the bus and went back to the restaurant in that storming Edinburgh day to fetch them. She attracted far too much attention on her way with an armful of flowers, but had enjoyed our day very much, as did I. A great memory.
    Read more