Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Tsawwassen to Home

    August 20, 2023 in Canada ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    I woke up at 6:30 a.m. but stayed in the very comfortable bed for another hour and a half. Eventually, I made my way downstairs and was greeted with another big hug and a delicious cup of coffee. A little while later, more deliciousness appeared in the form of fresh baked blueberry scones, which Ingrid whipped up in no time. She's a very impressive cook!!

    I left Tsawwassen just after 10:00 a.m. and arrived at the ferry terminal at 10:14 to find they could take me on the 10:25 a.m. sailing directly to Long Harbour. I was the last vehicle on, and then we were off. The Strait of Georgia was very windy and the seas very lumpy but it was wonderful to smell the sea air again.

    In no time at all were docking at Long Harbour, and I was home less than 15 minutes later. It feels good to be home.

    Here are my takeaways from this trip:
    - Various people asked me if I was afraid to travel alone. It's true that you hear so much bad stuff on the news. But honestly, my experience is that people are wonderfully friendly and helpful. You need to be cautious, of course. I kept to family-friendly places and never felt worried about my safety, even at the Red Apple Inn.

    - I needed to do this trip alone. I had had a sad few months with a good friend and then my aunt and my father dying. I felt I needed the space to do something a bit difficult and to be alone with my thoughts. Thankfully, my husband gets me and my need for freedom. And while I was glad for this time alone, I really enjoy traveling with my husband. I think we travel well together and it's way more fun to share experiences with someone special.

    - Our world is in big trouble. On a motorcycle, you get up close and personal with nature. And nature is hurting. You realize how serious our situation actually is. I don't know what the fix is, but whatever we do, it probably needs to happen quickly.

    Thank you for following along. It was a comfort to know you were checking up on me.
    Read more