Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Lost in Bintan

    November 20, 2019 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Note to self: Check map before booking ferry!

    Today I ended up on the wrong side of the island of Bintan (1 hr and 40 minutes away from where I should be!) When i got off the ferry I was the only white person in sight, something that wasnt missed by all the locals! The ferry terminal had no wifi so I had to walk into the village to look for wifi and my presence didnt go unnoticed, I was followed up the street by 15/20 men hassling me to get into their "taxis". I found a cafe (if you can even call it that), with 4 women inside. I went in and asked.for a coffee and a wifi code but the women had no English so called a man from across the street to speak to me. He informed me I had got the wrong ferry and the only way to the resort was via land.

    to where I managed to connect to the wifi.
    I managed to get in contact with Lorna and Paul in Singapore who GRAB taxi driver Doni saved me from
    Read more