Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Lost hiking stick

    August 15, 2022 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Today is one of the most important days in the Greek Orthodox calendar. Dekapentavgoustos. Or the feast of the dominion of the virgin Mary and marks the falling asleep of Panagua the mother of Jesus. It’s a day of festivals and church services. We planned a walk to the traditional village of Agirades through ancient olive plantations. The start was south along the beach road then a sharp left into the hills. Another hot morning 35 plus so all the shady areas we could walk in were so rewarding. The olive trees in this area go back hundreds of years and the trunks have immense circumferences We climbed a steep narrow path some may call it a road to the top of the mountain and walked into Agirades. A tiny village with houses inter-joined. The sounds of many voices as the locals filed out of church greeted us. We got talking to some of the congregation and heard about the small village. Best description would be great for a historical film. The houses are all built on top of each other with most looking worn and ancient. The paths between were narrow and rutted and being on a mountain side steeply slanted. This is community living and the smells of festival lunches and other wafted through the streets in various pockets of aromas. The church was full with a capacity of 60. And as everyone spilled out they congregated onto the veranda of a tiny Taverna. We were directed up white stairs on a hill to another church for spectacular views. Exploring along the alleys and slinky narrow paths that ran between the whitewashed houses. We decided to leave the village when we had to sneak pass the same Taverna of people for the fourth time. The return journey was to be via Marathas, and downhill meant that Shirley speeds ahead. After a water stop Shirley sped off and I packed my backpack and horror’s of horrors my hiking stick was gone. I thought it must be at the last stop back on top of the mountain. I immediately sped back up but 15 min later deciding enough and gave up deserting my pole I set off decidedly sad to catch up Shirley. Meanwhile trouble was brewing, Shirley waited ahead then started back to find me then went on to wait again. Meeting a group of Germans she shed tears about her lost husband. When I met these Germans 15 min later I was scolded and told to move it up. I was still missing my pole but knew I was in trouble as I walked round a corner to see a very angry partner………… she was leaning on my hiking stick. We never saw Marathias.Read more