Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Upstream Toyohira River

    September 8, 2016 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    I have been noticing at breakfast buffet that everyone serve rice into the rice bowl the same way; an empty rice bowl in one hand, rice scoop thing on the other hand, serve rice in two (or three) scoops. This made me think that someone in their early lives showed them how to do this.I imagine that some of these fellow breakfast eaters might have had less than happy childhood. Rice serving memes are like a symbol on their body. Not an exotic one like the ones in primitive societies that are shown on documentaries, but nevertheless sort of symbols are passed down the generation. Someone told me when I was a child that we service rice in two scoops for the living, serve rice in one scoop for the dead. Just one instance of a young person becoming embodied by the group, and the group embodying the person.Read more