Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    London Interlude

    May 9, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌧 64 °F

    On returning from Ireland, we both came down with bad colds. Have been pretty much out of it since. Gail’s sister arrived on Friday and we haven’t seen her yet.  Got COVID tests to be sure - negative. Luckily we had no plans that couldn’t easily be deferred. The nieces arrive tomorrow. I think we’ll be well enough to join them.

    5/21 update:  Well, it has been a bit of a stretch. Our colds were pretty bad, especially mine. I missed Hampton Court and we both missed a performance of Book of Mormon that we had booked to see with Toby and Kirsten. They took friends instead. Then I noticed blood in my urine. So off to urgent care I went thinking I had a UTI. Wasn’t so simple. They considered admitting me to the hospital, but instead gave me 2 antibiotics and sent me to a nephrologist. Still not certain what the diagnosis is, but am pretty much back to normal. Have another appointment with the nephrologist Wednesday.

    We did have some fun with the sister and nieces. Went to Camden Market yesterday and a cabaret last night. Walked along Regent Canal. We did make it to the Harry Potter play. I was drugged up trying to control my cough, but it was an overall good experience. Also went to Kensington Palace and Harrod‘s. Walking from KP to Harrod’s, we passed the Iranian embassy where protesters had splashed red paint on the front of the building.
    Read more