Satellite
Show on map
  • London

    March 17, 2019 in England ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    London is, as everybody told me, just a really pretty big city. Like New York, it has architecture both old and new, many museums, and many cool new neighborhoods comparable to several in Brooklyn. My roommate from college was my host here, and she lives in Hammersmith on the west side in a flat with her boyfriend and two other couples. They'd been in this living situation for three years, and although it's a wonderful way to save money in an expensive city, they were over it and looking in the area for a new place.

    Shoreditch was also very cool, lots of spaces repurposed as bars and restaurants, like many other cities. But one thing I noticed across London was the amazingly creative and efficient use space! We found restaurants, bars, art exhibits, shops, and more that were built into, over, or under the rail lines. In places you'd least expect. So I loved that about London. I kept thinking "this would never fly in New York". A friend and I walked from Shoreditch to White Chapel, where Brick Lane is. If you like Indian food and have any interest in middle eastern cultures, this is an incredible place to be. So diverse and lively and fun, and deliciousness all around.

    We hopped on the commuter boat to take in the sights. We got off at Westminster and got some good views of Parliament, Big Ben (which was under construction, so, underwhelming), and the London Eye. Great way to see the big picture of things and then diving into the ones that interest you by foot!

    My favorite experience in London by far was my walk around Hackney on the Far East side of London. I came from the "Here East" business park and started walking south along the canal. I was loving the sight of the house boats on the water, each so individual and cute. Then I came upon a RESTAURANT boat. I was hooked instantly, and hopped on. Apparently it stays stationed in this spot. They have a lower deck inside where the kitchen and bar are located. So cozy and elegant! I sad on the upper deck, outside, where I could take in views of the water. It was gorgeous and so calm! I sat next to a man and his dog, enjoying a glass of wine and a sandwich. I found out it was his birthday and he lived nearby, and therefore the two of them do this walk daily. He pointed me in right direction to walk after my lunch. It was absolutely lovely.

    We also visited Abbey Road! Totally worth the visit if you're a Beatles fan or even just a music fan. Awesome history, you can stop traffic and reenact the album cover, write your name on the wall, and shop in the gift shop. Very cool spot and not too too touristy. Just great to see!
    Read more