Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Departure day

    September 27, 2016 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Im currently sitting at a bar drinking beer, back at the sydney international airport waiting for my flight. This long-haul flight is a bit different thoght, for pretty much anyone who knows me they know that it has been my dream to nurse in africa since i was 15. I was guided on this humanitarian path after a missions trip to thailand and cambodia where i just had the simple though of the unfairness that i have healthcare and they don't. Since then i have done several course (maybe too many? i cant help myself) learnt French and everything i could think of to make myself useful in these less advantaged countries. Now I'm sitting here on a stool, on the outside i look calm and slightly bored. on the inside I'm a mix of excitement, disbelief that after 12 years, my dream is finally coming true, and fear.

    I don't usually post on FB much, so incase you don't know - im going to nurse in Bangui - Central African Republic for six months, with an italian NGO called Emergency. Im not sure which department i will be working in yet, but they half operate the tertiary paediatric hospital in the capital.

    Im most looking forward to finally going to Africa, in my mind its a scary place - probably just because its so unknown to me yet. And also i have been doing so many case studies and learning about it with my masters and diploma in tropical medicine and public health. So finally the theory will be put into practice. Im most worried about my French, CAR is a Francophone county, and hence i am required to speak French at work. Have i done enough? will i be able to communicate at all? We will see. Sign language also works.

    I'm also starting to reflect on the previous year, and i am most proud of this. It was only 9 months ago that my life was at the lowest point it ever has been. I got overwhelmed with the move to the Netherlands, struggled to make friends, had no money, lost all resilience and my relationship with who i thought was my best friend disintegrated rapidly. I am a traveller and i had never been so lonely in my life. But with the help if family and friends i have put myself back together and i'm back to chasing my dreams! I'm still not 100% but I'm pretty close, and i'm lucky to have a good support network.

    Enough of that: time to PACK!
    I needed to pack everything i need for 6 months, toiletries, medications, entertainment, everything, and being the savvy packer i am, i got it into 21.3 kgs! im sure ill remember things as i board the plane though ;) You can see the photos for packing details. I also needed to pack 'clothes that do not show my femininity' do you know how hard that is when you are a wide hipped, 8F girl? op-shopping helped that that task. I've gotten 4 vaccines, including the yellow fever! and 9 months worth of doxycycline for malaria prophylaxis, a yoga mat and drawing supplies - to use on my 1 day off.

    Boarding has started! See you all in 6 months, and stay tuned if you like africa and nursing and stuff :) hopefully I can resist the urge to tell everyone on the plane that I'M GOING TO AFRICA!
    Read more