Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 36

    Not much to do in Vientiane

    5. mars 2023, Laos ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    It’s been a quiet couple of days in Vientiane. I’d heard there was very little to do here so I did away with the idea of sightseeing completely and decided to commit to resting up before attempting the Thakhek loop.

    A little bit of miscommunication between me and Harry meant that I arrived at Vientiane with no accommodation booked and had to scramble around to find a room. Fortunately there was still space in Lucky backpackers hostel in the biggest dorm room I’ve had yet of 16. It wasn’t the best but at 100,000 kip or £5 it’s my cheapest hustle so far and I had an undisturbed sleep so all good.

    In fact I may have been the disturbance as that was the night I joined the remainder of our crew from Luang Prabang / Vang Vieng for an evening of pool and beers until 3 am.

    I also saw Arsenal perform a stunning comeback to win 3-2 against Bournemouth after being 1-0 down after 10 seconds, then fighting back in the second half from 2-0 down with Reiss Nelson scoring a beautiful half fully with the last kick of the game in the 97th minute to win the game 3-2.

    We did very little the next day too except for visiting a traditional spa with a herbal sauna (more like a steam room) and some interesting exfoliating rubs. I chose tamarind with other options being coffee, Rice and oats, which is why I look a bit like I’m rubbing poo all over myself in one of the photos.

    I also attempted cutting my hair again right before we left Vang Vieng But my clippers ran out and I couldn’t find my charger, so I had to deal with a slightly makeshift save of a haircut before finding a very good hairdressers in Vientiane. (I’ve included some evidence of the bodge job)

    I’d enjoyed spending time with the new group Add found in Laos but my time with them has come to an end as they all have slowly filtered off to Hanoi, some more sensibly by plane, others via the 24-36 hour sleeper bus through the mountains. I also say goodbye to Harry who has been floating alongside me since Chiang Rai.
    Les mer