Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day three: Getaria to Deba-ish

    July 31, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I slept in late and didnt start walking until 12. I spoke with someone in Getaria who told me I needed to get going so i went to high gear. I can really tune in while walking. I made it go Deba in 4 hours only taking a couple small breaks. Unfortunately the hostel in Deba was full. Two ladies who worked there were very helpful in helping me find somewhere else. The brought me water and gave me lists of places to call or try and sat with me for some time. I must have looked like i had no idea what i was doing but i think they wete just very kind. I ended up walking another 4 km to a hostel that had space. Its fun to have the community vibe of all the pilgrims. I bought dinner with my stay which ended up being a big group dinner with the other pilgrims. It felt like campand we all talked about our lives and what we are here for if any reason. Ill walk with some of them tomorrow. It will force me to get up early because ive been really bad at getting up early and they all seem like keeners. The goal is to make it to a Monestary just outside of Markina tomorrow before it fills up. Its apparently a cant miss experience.Read more