Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    San Pedro la Laguna

    January 20, 2017 in Guatemala ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    The chicken bus to San Pedro was quite challenging as the roads were winding up and down the mountains and the driver didn't give us a break and went through them as fast as possible. I really had to hold on to not slide on my neighbors lap. When we finally arrived I was dropped off on the main road. I checked on my phone which way I had to go and started walking. Like I remembered I took the next street on the right which would bring me to my hostel with just a few little turns. But after the next turn the street turned into a really small alley between two buildings going down the hill pretty steep. This couldn't be right. I walked back to the main road and checked again but it seemed to be the right and only way to go to get to the hostel. This is something you are probably not supposed to do when you come to a new place you don't know anything about. Walk down a sketchy looking alley with all your belongings. But it turned out to be the right way and San Pedro turned out to have a lot of this weird small alleys and just a few proper streets. The buildings were the same. Some of them were really nice but then again unfinished or run down. Definitely not what I expected but still somehow charming.
    I stayed at Casa Felipe which turned out to be a good place to hang out and meet the right people even though it somehow carried on the charme of the town. Toby, a guy I had met in Bacalar, was there as well. I spend a lot of time with people from the hostel just strolling around and hanging out without actually doing anything. I skipped the early morning hike to some lookout point for the volcano as well as taking a canoe to explore the lake. Sometimes you just need a few days doing nothing spectacular. And I still made a few really good memories.
    One night we all cooked together - Toby wanted to make swiss "Röschti". It didn't exactly work out the way he wanted it to but they were still delicious. I also gave it a try and made my own Röschti. It looked quite good but I shut have used salt.
    Another night I found myself dancing in a bar around 7pm, wearing clothes I would usually just wear to a good friends sleep over, a plastic cup of cheap red wine in my hand, realizing that I really don't care if anybody is watching. These are the moments you know life just can't get any better :)
    Read more