Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    A Seattle beach and park tour

    August 3, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    We got up at 5:45 and with the car already packed we were able to get on the road just after 6:00. Our ferry from the Anacortes terminal was cancelled due to mechanical failure so we had to drive up to Tsamussen in Vancouver to catch a BC ferry. The trip went without incident and we made the 9:00 passage to Victoria.
    Leaving Seattle was good for us. We had a comfortable stay and the Edgars were great hosts but the city itself was similar enough to Toronto that I think we lost our sense of adventure. Jessica started missing her bed. The boys had a great time with Zach but they were getting squirrelly, especially Tobin.

    As for me, on our last night in Seattle I felt muddled and confused. My identity as a father, husband, man got all tangled up and sank beneath a senseless, chaotic and unnavigable sea within myself. For awhile I was adrift like a jellyfish, floating on the inky black currents of the Salish Sea.

    Somehow, the next morning, driving north on the I-5 refocussed me and I was able to distinguish between myself and the world again. I was no longer drifting. I was steering. The captain of my ship! And the sun was rising, the coffee was hot, the traffic was clear. We were on our way again!
    Read more