Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Solar Eclipse Dufferin Grove Writing

    August 21, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    After a couple of days back I'm still looking for the next adventure. Driving home from camping I was all fired up with prospects for nurturing our freed spirits. The following day we went to a garden party in celebration of the eclipse. A lot of my colleagues were there at similar stages of life to us. Everyone was enjoying the summer off with their kids. It was familiar and comfortable.

    Later we went to Dufferin Grove Park and let the boys play in the adventure sand pit.

    The next day Jessica took Oliver to an indoor play place and gave me a day to write. It took awhile to find that cauldron where fiction churns. Transporting yourself to Imaginary worlds is even more of an irrational activity than camping or journaling. I worked on chapter 5 for quite a long time before finally deciding to start over again. Once I told myself to get to the point as quickly and as clearly as possible words started flowing. I kept freezing up when I realized how monumental a task writing Betwixtia is, how difficult it is to learn something as complex as writing while trying to balance a family, and how badly I need to finish this to prove to myself that I can do it.
    Read more