Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Ger Camp

    October 7, 2017 in Mongolia ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    I slept amazing last night in the Ger. It was so nice to have the moon shining into the tent, and to sleep in actual peace and quiet. I was exhausted, and the beds are comfy.

    We got to sleep in today which was nice, and we got to have another homemade breakfast. After breakfast we decided to try archery out. Archery was fun, we mainly laughed and joked as well as heckled each other. We all tried our best and had a lot of fun with it. Only a couple people hit the target. The target being a piece of fur stretched between posts.

    After this we went to visit a local family, and see the true Mongolian nomadic lifestyle. We took the “adventurous” was through a bog and brush. It was half frozen, but still thawed to some degree. I used my side to side hop to get through, and at one point we had to make a log bridge for us to use to pass over. Sadly our driver fell off and went knees deep into the bog. We were all laughing as he couldn’t stop laughing either.

    Eventually we made it to the nomads ger and saw their stables. Their animals are animals to them, they do not name them as that would make them pets. This goes for dogs, horses, ants, etc.
    We were invited inside the home where we were served Mongolian tea, which was super milky tea and to try dried curd (rock hard, could have broken a tooth). We sat there and chatted with the family and Toya was great at explaining and translating for us. Some of us brought small candy and toys for the little boy who was very happy about this.

    We opted not to take the bog back, but the road. It was just as fun since Mongolian drivers are crazy.
    When we got back we had a bit of a break to relax before lunch.

    As always lunch was good, and had the bestest dessert, some type of log roll that was delicious. After lunch we were going to do a hike.
    I opted not to do it since I haven’t been feeling well today, and I decided to nap.

    When I woke up about an hour and a half later, my ger mate Fallulah told me it was snowing outside. I couldn’t believe it. I decided to hit the bathroom to see for myself, and low and behold it was snowing. Almost like a hail. I was surprised when I stepped out of the ger.

    Our fire was roaring in the ger, so when Fiona came back from her hike she was super happy to get warmed up. We relaxed in the ger for a while until I was just getting too warm. I decided to open the door to give a little bit of a break from the heat, and was shocked to see everything covered in white. It was beautiful. I can’t believe I’m in the Gorkhi Desert and it’s snowing outside. This is truly amazing. I love it.

    As we had dinner and then socialized with vodka and s’mores at the Welshes Ger the snow is continuing to come down, it makes this place even more beautiful.

    As the girls and I were at the outhouse, we interrupted a game the young boys were playing ... throw snowballs through the top of the outhouse to get the guy inside. It was hilarious, and even in the ger we can still hear them playing around enjoying the snow.
    Read more