Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Day 43- The Rebel

    March 28 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 7 °C

    For those of you that don't know me completely, my Spiritual 🌍 Earth Awareness journey began around 2011 just after we returned to Australia after the Christchurch Earthquakes of September 2010. One could say my awareness of the Anthropogenic impacts on G🌍D arose in 2006 after reading Tim Flanery's 'The Weather Makers', and was 'confirmed' when I was introduced to Fracking by Metgasco in the Byron Bay Hinterland in April 2011.

    So today I will share the thoughts and quotes of a 'Desert Anarchist' and prolific writer on the subject of finding G🌎D- Edward Abbey ( 1927-1989).

    His book, Desert Solitaire is recognised as one of the great environmentalist manuals. I was first introduced to his work by my dear friend and whistle-blower, SQNLDR Kevin Smythe with whom I carpooled to RAAF Base Pearce ever day in 2002. 'The Monkey Wrench Gang' by Edward Abbey detailed the epitome of environmental activism in the 1970's and inspired the dismantling of a Tornado Fighter jet in the UK in 2004!

    Here we go, a collection of quotes from Edward Abbey's extensive writing over his short life.

    Enjoy..... and be inspired!
    Read more