Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 106

    Volcano alert

    August 20, 2015 in Ecuador ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Cotopaxi, a big volcano just south of Quito started spewing small amounts of lava leading the president to put Quito on evacuation alert. Anna was worried how she'd escape in the event of an eruption as she can't walk. I however was more worried about Miss Hopalot erupting from cabin fever!

    The first day of bed rest I went on a failed search for crutches. I did find some hiking poles ($50) which the patient initially turned her nose up but then conceded they were helpful. I also stocked up at the big supermarket for breakfast, pasta for dinner and nibbles to keep the beast at bay. The bus back was absolutely rammed and I had to wait for the fifth one before I could squeeze on - luckily they are frequent.

    The wifi was strong enough for Anna to sign up to the local Netflix to keep her entertained. We binge-watched season 3 of Orange is the New Black - awesome!

    On the second day, the beast did erupt because the coffee I brought her the previous day wasn't good enough - and she claims she's not an addict!

    I escaped to wander around the historic town. Quito is an absolutely beautiful city - a mass of colourful houses, ornate buildings and churches and cobbled streets surrounded by giant green mountains. There were hundreds (over 500 I'd guess) of police with riot shields everywhere but I never felt unsafe. We later found out there were protests going on and heard lots of sirens and helicopters in the evening.

    On my way back I walked up the hill to the huge cathedral and climbed up the tower (via a rocky walkway above the roof of the hall and some very steep ladders) and then up the bell tower which gave amazing views of the city. And gave my legs a great workout!

    On day three the beast (and the volcano) had calmed and we got a taxi to the Mariscol area where Anna had a proper coffee at the coffee / chocolate bean shop. At $9 for a bar of chocolate we didn't buy any, however I made sure to take full advantage of the samples on offer. - didn't taste that special to me.

    We got talking to Anastasia, a Canadian yoga teacher / life coach for ages and then hobbled slowly to Baalbek, a Lebanese restaurant and shared lentil soup, falafel, pitta, taboule and some aubergine dish, plus passion fruit juices ($23). Small portions, but very tasty. The taxi back, an official one, was a dollar cheaper than the others we've taken - you can't tell until you look inside.
    Read more