Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Time to say goodbye

    September 28, 2023 in Costa Rica ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    Rice with beans or beans with rice?
    During these 17 days on the group tour across Central America, I had many exciting experiences, met wonderful and warm-hearted people, learned a lot about the true stories in the countries and was able to experience the beautiful nature and wildlife at first hand. It was a very educational time and I can go into my next adventure with a full backpack of memories. Even though it is hard to say goodbye to my new friends (especially my new and close friend from Ireland), I am sure that we will meet again somewhere and sometime!
    Unfortunately, I couldn't write my travel blog regularly, but I will make a short summary here. Pictures speak for themselves anyways😊
    Overall, I can definitely recommend this group tour! It allows you to travel through countries that are a bit dangerous on your own. Furthermore, it was also very exciting to travel with people from different backgrounds and ages. Of course, it takes some adaptability and flexibility and you are less free where and how long you want to stay in a place, but you can let yourself go and don't have to worry about anything.

    Deniz our guide was great! He took care of everything, made suggestions for restaurants and activities, always took us safely across the borders (which was always a bit of a nightmare and needed a lot of patience). What I really appreciated was that despite being in a group, you were very free to choose which activities you wanted to do and you could also withdraw if you needed time for yourself. During these 3 weeks, I was able to travel to 5 different countries, which were all very different. However, I think my highlights were El Salvador and Nicaragua. In both countries I was able to learn a lot about history at first hand. It showed once again how much false information we get from the news in Europe and that if you really want to learn about the truth of the stories, you have to talk directly to the people from the affected areas. Except in San Jose, I never felt unsafe, of course you always have to be attentive. The people are very warm and kind and it is so nice to see that they are happy despite having few possessions. Other highlights were the small spontaneous private parties with the group, where we learned Irish dancing and listened to different music from the countries or played games. I also learned a lot about the history and culture of Ireland. It touched me personally to experience the pride of the Irish people in their origins and history. I also learned that "I am fine" is not convincing for "I am good" you have to say "I am grant" instead😄
    To sum up, it is a gift and a privilege to be able to make such a journey and it is the only thing you can buy that makes you richer in many ways. I am very grateful that I got the chance to have such experiences and to have met all these great people! Pura Vida!
    Read more