Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Little India and everything in-between

    November 13, 2022 in Malaysia ⋅ ☁️ 82 °F

    Today I got up earlier. I got to the little coffee place close to my house. It’s Sunday , so it was busy. Not one local, all tourists. But they had the traditional Malaysian breakfast I got yesterday, and it was good, so I didn’t care. The owners were there, getting in the way, telling staff to do things they already knew to do. I didn’t take a table I just sat at the coffee bar. I knew I was doing good, when one of the owners came by and exclaimed that I was having the traditional breakfast set. Lol, it’s not on their menu right now, but I saw it in the photo section of Google maps. That made me happy.
    The plan was to get money changed, and wind my way over to Little India. So but the time I got going after breakfast it was 10 am. And the sun here is really intense. We are also farther south by 2 1/2 hours than Bangkok. That makes a difference. This morning it was just tourists out. I was so glad to have my UV umbrella. I went to 3 different currency exchanges and they were all closed. But as I got to Little India, I found one and the streets were starting to come alive with people. I found this little lady selling Masala Chai and it was delicious. Even though it was hot tea and I was sweating. I wandered in an out of places, taking my time and enjoying the people watching. After a few hours, I started to wind my way back closer to the house. I wandered into a shop where they had caftans. I got a couple and on the way out saw these very light long sleeve tunics. As I turned to ask the man, he was already behind me. So I got 2 of them. I just don’t see this kind of clothing in Jacksonville. I’m the States, It’s all about wearing less clothes, not covering up from the sun. I’m seeing it here too. Super fair people wearing tank tops and shorts. 1) I would fry if I left that much uncovered, even with sunscreen. 2) This is a pretty conservative country. The more covered up, the better I feel.
    I wandered down a side lane, and got a few more things, and then moved on to a nice older lady selling caftans ( seeing a trend?!) I bought another one from her. Not a 10 ringgit one, but a 35 ringgit one. Her husband and another male family member were in the back. So she took it to him to bag, then took him the $ and he gave it to her to give to me. She was so happy I bought one from her. When I left I walked down to the end and turned around , I walked back by her. She waved and motioned for me to come closer. I did and she asked me if I was alone. I told her”Yes I am”. She told me to be careful. I promised her I was, that I have only been going out in the day.
    Women on this trip have been very nice. I have seen quite a few women of all ages traveling alone. I saw one older white lady in Chiang Mai at the Pad Thai place (the day I got my tattoo). She was eating, looking at her phone, in no hurry what so ever. After a bit, she got up, walked across the street got on a scooter, put on a helmet and putt-putted away. That was such a neat moment to capture.
    I haven’t been looking at my phone when I’m out eating. I’m trying to just be present in the moment. To be comfortable with myself whether I’m dripping sweat, or not sure of where to go or what to ask for. It’s been easier than I thought. Well, I’ve been practicing. And really trying to not take myself too seriously. And laughing when I fumble with something. People are generally helpful and are grateful for your business, your kindness and a smile.
    Tomorrow is my last full day here in Penang. I haven’t seen a fraction of what I thought I would see. I wanted to check out farther along the coast where there is a big expat community. But I also knew that by this time in the trip, I’d probably want to stick closer to the house. And I was right. Lol, I think renting this house was 60 % of wanting to come to Penang. I had originally planned to just hang out in Bangkok for another week. That would have been fine too. But then the Malaysian govt loosened its restrictions on tourists. And I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to come here.
    After tomorrow (Monday) I fly out Tuesday afternoon back to Bangkok (That is where I’m flying out of to come home). I have a full day in Bangkok (Wednesday) then I fly out of Bangkok Thursday evening. And because I’m flying west this time, I gain a day (instead of losing it like when I flew out here). So I will be back in NYC Friday Morning and home that evening.
    I’m ready to come home. It’s been fantastic, and those massages that 1st week really lowered my shoulders from around my ears. But the suspension of reality has to come to a close some time.
    I did see hotels and small inns here and in Thailand that I had seen while researching this trip. I’d easily come back and stay in them. Always researching, lol.
    So I’m going to order some more Indian food and chill. This is my favorite time of the day here. When the rain is slowing, I have music on (African mix from Spotify- it’s fantastic. So much talent from that part of the world). And try to go to bed at a reasonable time. I stayed up watching a movie last night. It’s funny, I’ve been watching light American comedy on this trip. And at home I’m watching Indian Crime dramas. Lol, it seems to balance well, so I’m not questioning it. Just going with what feels right. ❤️
    Read more