Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Hook of Holland to Monster

    June 27, 2022 in the Netherlands ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    “How many miles did you travel on your first day?” People would ask. “Oh, about 15km!” … but we have a reason. Of all the days to have a problem with your eye, today is the day! I woke up this morning with tiny spots of blood on my pillow and my eye irritated (it still hurts as I write this 😔) but we’ll get to that soon. We got off the ferry at 8am and were immediately integrated by a border guard, thanks Brexit. He asked where we were going, how long for and whether we had a return journey. We seemed to clear his questions and traveled to see Ted and Harry in Monster for some coffee.

    Ted has covid but it was lovely to see Harry, Jim, Beau, Ed and even Pete dropped by! As the day wore on my eye became more painful until Harry suggested we go to the pharmacy and then later the doctor. They were excellent and prescribed me some eye meds to help soothe it and stop an infection. By the time we were done it was too late to ride and my eye was still sore so Harry and Dickie very kindly offered for us to stay at theirs for the night. We gratefully accepted and had a lovely evening exploring little Dutch villages, having dinner on the beach and walking along the shore.

    What a lovely day! Now we are finally in bed and looking forward to tomorrow! Hopefully the eye will be held!

    HIGHLIGHTS- a wonderful dinner and evening with Dickie and Harry
    LOW POINTS - thinking I might have an eye infection and having a sore eye
    Read more