Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Rest Day: Struppen

    July 17, 2022 in Czech Republic ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Well that didn’t go to plan! We started the day with a little bit of admin and washing, before heading over the border to the Czech Republic to see the bikers cave or Pekelne Doly. The ride over there was about 1.5hrs through some beautiful, alpine style villages and views, many along the river Elbe. The cave itself, however, was a dark, crowded and uninviting place. It was an amazing spectacle to see bikes being ridden around a cave but it didn’t feel welcoming. I had been feeling a little off all morning after losing my infinity bracelet, which I felt was my lucky charm, but either way, the place got my hackles up a little, so we didn’t stay long.

    On the way back out of the country Vex and I had a bit of a bump, ok we crashed, very slowly. Someone rolled back into us on a slight hill and broke the front mudguard. It was nothing spectacular (thank god) and we’re both absolutely fine, I was just a little shaken up. After dealing with the driver and exchanging details, I tested her brakes, front suspension and ‘tracking’, all of which felt perfect and rode her slowly back to the campsite, where I promptly had a snooze. Luckily, the day finished off nicely with a lovely walk around the local area and a lovely sunset.

    The plan for tomorrow has now has to alter so she can be checked over and we can hopefully walk some of the Saxon Switzerland that we missed today. Then back into an uninviting Czech Republic.

    HIGHLIGHTS - walk through the beautiful surroundings at sunset, getting some washing done
    LOW POINTS - crashing
    ROADS - none of note
    Read more