Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 153

    Wadi Mujib Siq Trail and the Dead Sea

    August 21, 2022 in Jordan ⋅ ☀️ 91 °F

    Miles: 4.1 Steps: unknown
    Flights stairs: 7

    We went on the most amazing “hike” today - we hiked 1 km into and up a river in a beautiful canyon called Wadi Mujib! The water temp was perfect - just refreshing and beautiful. Most of the way the water was mid thigh level, but it got as low as ankle deep to some places we couldn’t touch.

    We had to maneuver over rock ways and waterfalls the entire length. It’s an attraction so they provided “helpers” at the most difficult spots and of course there were ropes and ladders installed to help us over.

    I was pretty proud that I made it the entire way. They say you should be fit and in good shape to attempt it. 🥺 I had one obstacle that I didn’t think I’d make it over, but did!! I was also the oldest person in the canyon. 👵 At one point the group around us applauded when I made it up a particularly difficult section. 😁

    There were little fishies all throughout the river that constantly nibbled on your skin. Like … every few seconds. They were everywhere. A little unsettling to feel it the entire time.

    On the way back we’re able to just float back down and really enjoy the rock formations. Such an AWESOME experience. 10 out of 10.

    Later we decided to brave floating in the Dead Sea. It is officially the lowest point on earth at 427 meters (1400 ft) BELOW sea level! It is actually a dangerous thing to do as it is so salty and … people die there. 😳 who knew? It has a salinity of 34%!! The ocean is only 3.5%, and The great salt lake in Utah ranges between 6-27%. You have to make sure to not get any water in your ears, mouth, eyes or nose or it can do tremendous damage. Also a ten min time limit in the water. This water was NOT the perfect temp … it was literally HOT. Not just bath water, but hot to get into.

    Unfortunately I got two small cuts on my arms while in the canyon earlier so couldn’t fully enjoy it. I had to keep my arms out of the water the entire time or risk a pretty painful experience according to the helper at the water. (And I did have a much smaller scab on my shin that let me know how much it did actually hurt in the very salty water). It was a phenomenal feeling tho having the water actually push you to the surface. Crazy.
    Read more