Satelit
Tampilkan pada peta
  • Hari 30

    Jerusalem with the Franciscan Friars

    30 Juni 2023, Palestina ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Due to all my sleeping yesterday during the day my body was rebelling about sleeping more. Finally fell asleep around 2.00am.

    At breakfast the Mexican lady who had said she might join me to go see the light show on Saturday night said do you know the Franciscan friars have the "Way of the Cross" on the Via Dolarosa. That was good to know I think I will join that.

    Then went and looked round the ruins of Herods craftsmanship from 30AD. What a guy, even as you marvel at his desires and ambitions it is no different to this day. Some of the most intelligent people don't know how to use their ability for the good of man kind. This very much comes to mind when your seated at the " Lithostrotos". " The Pavement".( please read the article pause for thought and the photos)

    After that went back to the Austrian Hospice and communed with God. I started my pilgrimage by praying at this perticular church. So now cone to say Thank You for a lovely Journey and also take away from this journey some things. So that it is not just a pilgrimage but also a pilgrim who has changed.

    Later came back to the cafe at the Austrian hospice. Had a chicken schnitzell and lemon juice. I need Troy as then my plate would not be left with leftovers.😀

    Just got back from the "Way of the Cross" good to have done it at least once on the Via Dolarosa in Jesus's footsteps.

    It would have been several feet below where we are walking just now, but to think he walked this way thousands of years ago very sobering.

    Another very fortunate point I realised was that the grave of Jesus was closed off for R& M. Very fortunate that I went and did my night of staying while it was open. I would have been so very dissapointed if I could not have visited it. God's providence is with me for sure.

    After the stations if the cross finished I went for an amble round the old city, went and visited the Jaffa Gate, then from there walked to the Zion gate, then came back towards the Damascus Gate and now at the convent which is by the Lions gate. That is my knowledge of all the gates. I have been to the New Gate once.

    The first photo is from Yesterday at the Basilica of the Annunciation dome in Nazareth. It is shaped like a Lily in honour of the Vergin Mary and the flower associated with her is the Lily.

    Pause for Thought

    Today I am in the floors beneth the convent where i have been staying while in Jerusalem.

    The ruins that lie below are mentioned to be one of the best preserved ruins in the world.

    Herod who was a great builder built this as a fortress area for himself. There were water reservoirs, water cannels, moats market place etc.

    Inside in one area where I am now seated is where Pilot is said to have been on the judgement seat at a place called the Lithostrotos in hebrew Gabbatha. This was on the pavemment whichvis sited in the gospal.

    Looking at the pavement stones there very large stone pieces, I can imagine Pilot seated on his throne, Jesus standing in front meekly with his arms tied, waiting for the verdict. I guess he just wanted it finished. The waiting would have been an agony of its own. He might have even thought will this path i have to travel change by the grace of God and his intervention at the 11th hour. Just as much as we wait for a miracle, did he wait for the heavenly father to do one for him now. Where was Mother Mary. Did she pass out through this agonising time. Did Herod ever regret his decision?.

    I regret some of my decisions that I make when I am angry and stressed. How can I learn from Herod to try my best and not leave room for regret?. Walk away and pray for guidence, comes to mind so let me remember that thought.
    Jesus your meekness, your trust in doing the fathers will, please help me Jesus to remember these values in my hour of restlesness and trial. Amen
    Baca selengkapnya