Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Statistic Sicily - Altra Superior review

    April 23, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    - 30 days
    - 1.400.000 steps (I must still just calculate the exact number)
    - ~1031 Km
    (Guesses: gravel & dirt road 50%, single trail 15%, paved roads 25%, sand / beaches 10%)
    - 1 pair of trail runners
    - 1 pair of socks
    - 1 T-Shirt
    - 330 € spent.... Just on food... Mostly supermarket, bars and bakeries

    ---

    Review of the Altra Superior 5 after these 1000km:
    It's an interesting shoe. At first you think the upper soft mesh does not last long. But actually because it is so soft, you don't get these folding failures between the shoe laces and the toes. But on the other side I realize, that it gets broken from the inside. The big toe hits the mesh. That's one spot where it gets broken slowly. I cook not avoid it. Dad, that they have not just made the plastic at the toes a bit bigger. So easy solution and not proper made.
    The same on the inside part of the mesh, connected to the Eva sole. The water gets out there will, but this will be the next part weich will fall apart . The leaving and heel part is fine. A bit loose for me, but okay. Soft, flexible. I like it. That's what the shoe makes comfortable. With the gaiters it worked well, but a fixture of the heater in the front would be nicer. Like the Lone Peak 5 has had, I guess.

    The sole... Oh my god! I thought the Michelin sole of the Salewa Lite Train is not the best... But this one tops it like nothing.
    The profile is... shit... way too slippery. Not on rocks and dry ground. But wet or muddy etc.... forget it. I don't know if the wide sole is necessary. At least it is flexible. I have not used the rock plate. I've tried it with medium size stones. Hmmm...I think I don't need it. But the toe spacers with the rock plate was less. Definitely. And I Don't like that.
    That's the reason why I wanted to use the Altra shoes. The wide toe box. And that's a real plus. It really helps me on these long distances. I have much less problems with cramps in the toe area and it feels just will, even after a long day.
    But you really don't have much stability medial and lateral. If the ground descends lateral, it doesn't work well.

    Actually I can not understand trail runners who love that fit. Only on a good trail or is okay. But on uneven trails...no way.

    On muddy ground the shoe is terrible. The mud sticks like crazy and does not remove by itself easily at all. Not recommended under these circumstances. But not bad of you walk through water pools. The water really drains well.

    Altra should probably also use a Vibram Mega Grip sole with a different design. That could give more trust in difficult terrain.
    On the other side, the rubber is probably hard enough too give the shoe some milage. I mean after mixed conditions and 1000km and still some profile on it.... That's not bad at all! I am curious how it performs until 1500km.

    So all in all, I have mixed feelings. But there are definitely ready solutions to improve that shoe.
    I have paid on sale only 60€ and this was a great deal. For the list price... No way! That's not worth.

    After this one, I will try the first time the Altra Lone Peak 6, which I got on sale too a similar price. I am curious how much it differs.
    Read more