Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Welcome to Seattle

    August 26, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    It was time to explore Seattle. I made some plans in the morning and then just went to the center by foot. First stop was the famous Pike Place Market which was totally crowded. Next to other stuff they sell fish here and throw it around. You can imagine the crowds of tourists which were there. I didn't really want to spend a lot of time at this place so I went to the Space Needle. On my way I came by the first ever Starbucks. Around and in this building there were even more tourists, so I left. I have purchased my Space Needle ticket in advance and could go up almost immediately. The view from the platform was absolutely amazing. I saw the skyline from Seattle of course and also Mount Rainier (the highest mountain in Washington: 4392m high). Afterwards I took the ferry to Bainbridge Island which is just opposite Seattle on the Puget Sound (the waters next to the city). During the ride there was a great view of the skyline. After 45 minutes I have arrived and returned immediately with the same ferry as I didn't want to lose too much time on this island which is not as interesting as Seattle ;-) Upon arrival I returned to the area around the Space Needle and then made the way up to Kerry Park to watch the sunset. As the weather was absolutely beautiful this day - there was only a blue sky - the sunset was wonderful. The lighting of the scenery was changing colors as it got darker. I enjoyed the view until I headed back to the Space Needle area again because there was a free show of "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story". I haven't had seen this movie yet and as I am a Star Wars fan this was a great opportunity to catch that up. After the movie I went back to my apartment by bus and slept, it was a long but great day.Read more