Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Bigbury-on-Sea

    June 9, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Bigbury-on-Sea or bust. Today was pure willpower, I could have waited until 8pm to cross the Erme Estuary at low tide, but even then, it was forecast to be a high low tide and the conditions are horrible so it could well have been impassable. Another option was to get an Uber around but I didn't consider this for long for the sake of integrity (and being a cheapskate). When I started this trip I also gave myself the goal of trying to achieve a one million step month, so I thought at least tarmac could be some easy miles. And so I took the whole 10.5 mile detour around by foot instead, taking me along an A-road for miles in part. It felt like a very long and unpleasant journey. But life will have to throw more at me than just persistent rain, A-road walking, unexpected 10.5 mile add-ons, and not knowing where I'm sleeping tonight to name but a few. This type of trip is all mindset and testing your resolve and it really has forced me to think opportunistically; the mist is longer just bad weather, it's perfect conditions to hide my tent without being seen.Read more