Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Worth Matravers

    June 18, 2022 in England ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Well I stand humbled, am truly exhausted. By pure coincidence I arrived at Lulworth ranges at exactly the right time to enter, had I been a day or two out I'd have been in a real predicament. Despite that luck though I had possibly the two most sketch moments of the whole trip since Lulworth; first I nearly stepped on another snake. But this was no baby snake like last time, this was HUGE, definitely an adder. Also definitely the largest snake I've ever seen in the UK. Really spooked me out and I was checking the ground rigourously for the following few kilometres. Soon after I got over that though, there were constant 27 mph seaward winds which made clifftop walking a real task of surefootedness and a hell of a lot of concentration. I've managed to come a long old way but by the time I'd descended Houns Tout I really had reached my limit. Rather than face the wind out on St Aldhelm's Head, I have decided to walk inland to Worth Matravers and have just eaten a pasty at the Square and Compass, where the locals are getting very rowdy. (Although the path is sacred this didn't cut out any distance and I've done St Aldhelm's Head many many times so regretably I do deem it ok, especially after how far I've just come)Read more