Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Bath

    June 10, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    It's kinda funny, I thought I'd have more to say before an adventure of this scale. And I do have a hell of a lot I could say; I've had a whole host of conflicting feelings leading up to this. But for simplicity, I won't write about any of that. There's plenty of time for soul searching.

    Anyhow, it's been a funny old end to 4 years in this city. And it only took a mere step out of the front door until confronted with the first controversy of the trip, with us all managing to get locked out of our own house (less of a problem for me albeit) with the door slamming violently to a close after we'd all piled into the front garden for a photo (that'll teach you not to quadruple lock the bloody door Anj). Following some acrobatics via the neighbours to get back in, Anj then waved us off as John and I made haste for Bath Abbey, where a dramatic performance, seen through the giant gaping doors, was drawing to its finale. The photos you see are the painful attempts of me trying to get a picture without drawing attention from the emerging floods of people, haha. In fact, a little under 3 years ago, I stood at the pictured marker, the start point of the 102-mile Cotswold way before attempting my first ever long-distance hike. 1065 days later, I stood there again, this time alone*, facing in the opposite direction and with over 20 times the distance between myself and an aimed destination. Regardless of how far this trip may take me, I've got to say its kinda crazy the different pathways life will take you and I think that's pretty fucking cool. Anyway, with that, we made our final attack on Bathwick Hill, taking our sweet time to sit and soak in the sunset on the ascent. At the top: our destination for the evening: the Library! 🤓 Laugh as you may, I wouldn't have it any other way personally. Ending the university years by doing something just a bit ridiculous with as close a friend as John is exactly the way I'd have it and exactly the right tone to set for the forthcoming adventure :)

    *Edit: not alone, I had John with me
    Read more