Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Bourton

    June 10, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Day 1 Stats (Total):
    Distance: 49.33 km (54.02 km)
    Steps: 70,626 (77,774)
    Move time: 11h33 (12h43)
    Spend: £0 (£0)

    Well, that was a frantic first day. My thoughts are very scattered, but one thing that I'm yet to work out is how to explain what it is exactly I'm actually aiming to do, to strangers who are quite rightly curious. One dude earlier asked where it was I was heading and I could find him no other explanation than 'to Bournemouth', he raised his eyebrows and said 'wow that really is a long way,' to which I could do nothing but nervously chuckle. Maybe I just can't bring myself to think of all that distance, or maybe because I'm not sure I really believe in myself enough that'll I'll get anywhere close. Anyway, once I'd finally found a place to pitch, I met possibly some of the friendliest people I've met while hiking at all, Claire and Neil, who quickly unravelled my half truths and taught me exactly why I should share my true objective, reacting with real interest and support.

    As for the hiking, what can I say about that? Some easy miles, some less easy ones. I find, even as someone who is usually very stable, my mood can be so changeable while hiking like this, so that's something to manage. Either way, it's going to take a little time to get into the rhythm of this life.
    Read more