Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Old Winchester Hill

    June 15, 2023 in England ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Day 6 Stats (Total):
    Distance: 31.02 km (214.11 km)
    Steps: 44,555 (306,708)
    Move time: 7h9 (49h29)
    Spend: £2.30 (£24.15)

    Witnessing Charlie take a 6am ice bath was exactly the right way to kick off day 6 of this little adventure (and the way everyone's day should start really), the drive of this man is infectious (even if he does have a huge nose). And after he whipped us up the finest English muffins known to man, I found myself back on the road, this time in the direction of Botley Station, where I had the absolute pleasure of being joined by Ollie for the day. As perhaps may become tradition, I welcomed him to the trek by taking him through thickets of overgrown nettles, which spewed us delightfully out right into the belly of a farmers' courtyard. Luckily enough though, our farming overlord was a forgiving one, and directed us out of their property and back on our way. Despite arguing about how to pronounce quite literally every place name en route, and Ollie enlightening me that the South Downs is actually England's newest national park (and not The New Forest as I stated in a previous post), we made brisk progress, stopping only for tea in Bishop's Waltham and some homebaked chocolate cornflake cakes in a drowsy field. Our voyage then came to its close as Ollie saw me onto the South Downs way, himself continuing on to West Meon. Again, thanks to Ollie for joining me out here!Read more