Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Tournai

    June 29, 2023 in Belgium ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Day 20:
    Distance: 33.67 km (646.33 km)
    Steps: 48,411 (927,131)
    Move time: 7h47 (148h49)
    Spend: £24.40 (£285.61)

    Wasquehal to Tournai.

    Now that I've crossed over the border into Belgium, I think I can safely say, "God save the King, and down with the Republic." But honestly, although I do enjoy a good stab at the French, everyone I met in Northern France was absolutely lovely, even though the terrain was truthfully a little uninspiring. But can we hear it for England by the way. In my experience, Brits are often far too quick to dismiss our own country; either it's boring, it's expensive, or it's just plain not worth an adventure, especially outside of national parks. Personally, I love hiking in middle England; terrorising golf courses, touring battered castles, and grazing the diverse nature of the English countryside will forever be my jam. There's adventure to be found everywhere in life, and that even includes the pancake flats of Hauts-de-France. Adventure is a mindset, never a place. But back to today; the journai to Tournai was honestly a very easy one, and I barely feel like I've done any walking the past 3 days at all really. I shan't complain though, this evening I've enjoyed exploring the moody, cobblestoned gothic streets of Tournai, a very picteresque city steeped in history, which has also treated me with a monster kebab and a hostel for the night.Read more