Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Forrières

    July 4, 2023 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Day 25:
    Distance: 38.49 km (834.25 km)
    Steps: 55,220 (1,194,069)
    Move time: 8h44 (190h17)
    Spend: £19.90 (£372.12)

    Dinant to Forrières.

    Today was mentally exhausting. After failing to find somewhere to sleep and being really too tired to even move, I ended up seeing through the penumhra of night all the way to morning in full consciousness, just sat on a bench in the centre of town. When I eventually did decide to set sail for the day, I only set my sights on Rochefort. And after an agonising arboreal Ardennes amble, I did finally find my way there, only to find that the campsite I'd intended on staying in had entirely closed down! Great. I really needed a campsite to recharge my power banks (and get some bloody sleep!), so I continued on to Forrières, where I've been rewarded with some comforts. Thank you, by the way, to the friendly Belgians who have offered me lifts the past couple of days. The look of sheer bewilderment on their faces when I have to turn them down despite walking on 70 kmh roads is quite amusing I have to admit.Read more