Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Obergünzburg

    July 24, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    Day 45:
    Distance: 30.19 km (1,481.72 km)
    Steps: 43,013 (2,114,845)
    Move time: 6h42 (328h03)
    Spend: £0.00 (£670.06)

    🇩🇪 Memmingen to Obergünzburg. 🇩🇪

    I've been loving Bavaria so far, with its pretty pastel-coloured assortment of buildings. Even with the consistent waves of hard storms, occasionally interrupted by spells of pure sun, I made my miles to Obergünzburg with relative ease today, stopping only to cut my toenails on a bench outside the famous basilica of Ottobeuren. That's something I love about this trip; it reinforces that there are no real rules in life, only what's expected of you. Want to eat a whole tub of ice cream in public? Alright. Want to sleep in a bush? Sure. How about on a bench? Go for it, mate. Rules can be stupid, and sometimes I find it's just better to think: 'who (or what) am I really affecting negatively by doing this?', and sometimes even 'who's really going to stop me?' Happiness is freedom, and freedom is happiness. Anyway, in Obergünzburg I've been very kindly allowed a place to stay with Tjorven and Ringo, two friendly eighteen year olds. We cooked some delicious traditional German food together and then enjoyed an evening playing frankly an outrageous amount of table tennis. Thanks so much to the both of them and to Tjorven's mum Sarah, who allowed me to stay here even if she couldn't be around herself!Read more