Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Wiesing

    August 2, 2023 in Austria ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    Day 53 & 54: (both rest days)
    Distance: 7.84 km (1,707.43 km)
    Steps: 11,912 (2,437,873)
    Move time: 2h36 (380h38)
    Spend: £25.22 (£842.71)

    It's been a funny couple of days. It feels like I've walked myself into a corner somewhat. The original idea was to shoot down the valley into Mayrhofen, potentially being able to take a rest day to see Krimml falls, and then to pass into Italy via the mountains at Pfiterschjoch. But a number of factors have thrown up complications since that plan, such as severe weather warnings, poor condition of my feet, and lack of availability at crucial mountain huts to name but a few. Instead, progression has ground to a halt a bit while I sort myself out, and assess the options of how best to proceed. As I see it, there are only a few possibilities from here; firstly, waiting out the weather and availability and just continuing as originally planned. The problem with this is that I could very likely be waiting a long time. Two; keep heading east. The problem with this is that, at some point, I need to move south, too, and the mountains only get bigger and much more Grossglockner-y. Three; go back on myself, moving back west into Innsbruck and onto Italy in the safest way given the weather, via the Brenner pass. Now, this isn't without its inconveniences either: having to head back west and missing some of what might've been great scenery. Ultimately though, I think it's important to keep moving, and given the fact that I have basically no idea what I'm doing anyway (I've never done hut to hut hiking in the Alps previously), it's difficult to assess the dangers of high passes when there are severe weather warnings due in. So maybe it's the boring option, but at least it's the most sensible one. Anyway, at least I've finally done some actual relaxing the past couple of days, my first time walking fewer than 5 km in a day in 2 months!Read more