衛星
マップで表示する
  • 日76

    Sklonište Rebar

    2023年8月23日, クロアチア ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    Day 75:
    Distance: 39.30 km (2,332.34 km)
    Steps: 55,196 (3,331,880)
    Move time: 8h29 (526h24)
    Spend: £0.00 (£1,445.17)

    🇸🇮 Podcerkev to Sklonište Rebar. 🇭🇷

    An eery, nerve-wracking day. The Slovenia-Croatia border region is a permanent home to bears, wolves, and lynxes. And not just like five bears either, but over *one thousand* brown bears. I don't think I saw a single person, let alone a single settlement all day. And yet, armed with nothing but my bare fists and my phone speaker to alert any unknowing bears of my presence, I made my way through a long stretch of thick, undulating forest. It's a strange thing feeling like you have to sing to keep your life intact haha; even if the locals I asked for advice didn't seem too concerned at my plan and told me I only needed to make little noise every now and again, I was definitely on-edge, especially having never dealt with this consideration before. Sure, when you look it up, Slovenia may only average like two bear attacks per year, but when walking, all I could think is: I can't believe as many as two people per year even come here! There was one moment, too, where I had to pass in front of a cave, and my god. It felt like the most obvious bear lair you could ever come across, but shit, I wasn't sticking around to take any pictures and find out. Unsurprisingly, there was no marker at the border itself, but hey, fuck: I've just reached country number nine! Tonight, I've found this old shack to sleep in, Sklonište Rebar. So, while dealing with bears shouldn't be a problem for the night, there could be some other Croatian wildlife to be concerned about. I'm not talking about wild boar, nor the scorpions, or venomous snakes. No, apparently this region is home to the black widow spider! I'll be sure to sleep cosily in my little insect-infested hut then!もっと詳しく