Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 170

    1900s town, Beamish Museum

    March 21 in England ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Our first stop of the day was at the 1900s Town. There was so much to see in this area alone!

    The idea is to experience life in a northeast town in the years leading up to World War I. They've certainly achieved this! As you walk down the cobbled streets, you encounter people in period costume going about their daily business - shopping chatting, working, and, when we were there, taking part in a 'Votes for Women' march.

    You get to go inside the Edwardian homes on Ravensworth Terrace and meet the occupants. There are lots of authentic, fully-stocked shops, including a Co-op, a bakery, a sweet shop, and a drapers. It was fascinating - I could have spent all day in just this one street!

    The highlight for me was bottle shop located between the chemist and the photography studio. I almost walked straight past it and then did a double-take - could this be the aerated water bottling that my ancestor, Harrison Bramhald, had put down as his profession in the 1881 Census? I asked some questions and, indeed, it was! And I thought he was the local nutcase in a street full of miners!! But, no, it really was a job you could do! I'm so glad I found out about it 😀.

    We also explored the garage, the Sun Inn pub, the bank, and the printer's. I loved it!! I wasn't surprised to learn that the 1900s town was used as a location for both the film and the TV series of Downton Abbey.
    Read more