Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Chicago to Milwaukee

    September 23, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 66 °F

    Day 1! 92 miles so far, another 15 or so to go after I wrap up in Milwaukee. My adventure began with a lovely send off from mom and dad, complete with homemade chocolate/coffee granola bars and haphazard selfies. I listened to Juan Wauters as I rode through Chicago, doing my best to transform my disposition towards the hoards of lake shore runners from annoyance to delight. Once I made it past the city limits, I switched over to NPR which covered stories related to Venezuelan migrants and Hispanic Heritage month. The stories combined with an insatiable hunger and a waft of some truly delicious aromas inspired me to stop by Diana's Bakery, a Mexican bakery in Waukegan. The owners didn't speak English but really enjoyed my attempts at conversation in Spanish. They had a $5 minimum for a credit card purchase... which I only reached after I had tallied up 5 pastries. All of which I had for lunch 😋

    After that, I did my best to emulate a Mat Shiley style dance routine to "September", listened to the "Happiness Lab" thanks to a rec from Haley Kost and Nathan Gornick, then the first two chapters of "Siddhartha", thanks to a rec from Brice Ruiz. And I thought about my first Find Penguins post!

    Here's my song, snack, and shoutout of the day:

    🎶 September, Earth Wind and Fire
    🍎 Postre de Camote
    🙏 The Olsens for hosting me tonight!
    Read more