Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Escanaba to Milakokia

    September 27, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌬 64 °F

    Day 5!

    Best day yet. My evening with Mary was remarkable and I began today feeling refreshed, inspired, with a well planned day ahead of me.

    First stop: Pear snack. Thanks Mary. I was riding in 15 mph wind pretty much all day. That pear snack was great encouragement. 🍐

    Second stop: Manistique! A lovely Cafe called Cedar Street. While I was there, I started chatting with the folks sitting beside me and someone must've overheard about my plan to bike around the lake. And they picked up my bill! I tell ya, folks. These Yoopers are of a different breed.

    Third stop: a gas station! To pee! Also I bought batteries for my headlamp and a butterfingers for later. I met a sugarbeet delivery man. Those beets were as big as my head! Friendly fella. He wished me happy trails.

    Oh yeah, yesterday I bought a new seat that has more cushion. That was an excellent choice.

    Fourth stop: Milakokia camp ground. Mmm. I love it. It took me longer than I would like to admit to get a fire going... but I did it! And it got me thinking about buying a campground. How cool would that be. I could work remote from an RV, have people pay on the honor system if I'm travelling... anyway. It's wonderful here. I'm listening to Alabama Shakes and feeling good.

    🍎 Yooper Bar
    🎶 Hold On, Alabama Shakes
    🙏 The lovely Yooper who picked up my lunch bill.
    Read more