Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Grand Haven to New Buffalo

    October 2, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 61 °F

    Day 9!

    Well, tonight's my last night out. I'll be home tomorrow. It's a funny feeling.

    Last night, Ella and I spent the night with a couple of older folks who are living quite exactly how I'd like to live one day. Bike rides in the morning, Hammond B3 each evening, lake side walks, finding fossils in Florida, deeply curious about the world they live in and deeply in love with one another. We had oatmeal and gluten free Kirkland brand veggie muffins for breakfast.

    Ella and I parted ways after that. It was a little sad but it was the right thing to do. There's something beautiful about being able to live in correspondence with your own impulses. Both paying for your own mistakes and quietly embracing the moments of joy that you create for yourself.

    After Ella left, I went to see some Nordic windmills in Holland. I took pictures of a couple from CA. For their sake, using their phone. They were a lovely couple, but I did not take pictures of them for my own keeping. I then ate some tortillas and nut butter for lunch while listening to Sufjan Stevens and debating whether or not to be sad some more. I decided not to and instead crushed a Celsius energy drink and biked 87 miles to New Buffalo.

    And here I am! Thanks Lofredos for letting me sleep here! I'm sleeping on the upstairs porch so I don't stink up the place.

    🍎 Celsius Sparkling Fuji Apple Pear
    🎶 Anything by Sufjan Stevens
    🙏 Thanks Lofredos!
    Read more