Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Bacolod Day 14

    April 9, 2017 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    On our final day, breakfast started at 8:30 in the morning.

    By 10, we were ready for the final debrief and photo-op with everyone at the ERH Village. The scholars and kids came early to bid us farewell. My students donated their personal stuff that they no longer needed. One of my students washed and cleaned her shoes so she can pass it to someone called Bombai, one of the construction workers at the Cabug site.

    We had our awarding of gifts to Mikmik, Erma and to the rest of the GK Volunteers.

    Tears of sadness and joy were overflowing from our team and our host community as we slowly departed from our home of 2 weeks. It wasn't easy to leave, I had to "drag" the team to the 3 vans that were waiting to bring us to Bacolod-Silay airport.

    After a quick transit into Manila, we embarked on our final flight back to Singapore and touched down at Changi at 11:30pm.

    Shankar and I shared a cab on our way home to the west side of Singapore. I arrived at home at around 1 in the morning with a pleasant surprise waiting for me.
    Read more