Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Introducing Tenerife

    June 14, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    When I first went to live abroad, I was often asked all kind of bizarre questions when people found out that I was from tenerife. A holiday island for most, they could just not imagine that there were people who grew up there and led a normal life, just like they did everywhere else. Do you live in a hut at the beach? No, I don't. Haver you ever been to the movies? Yes, like a hundred times. Are there schools in Tenerife? No, I learnt everything I know at home and somehow I landed an Erasmus scholarship and ended up here. Just kidding. Of course there are schools in Tenerife. We even have a university. Two, actually.

    However, what puzzled people most was my relationship with the weather. The cold weather, to be more specific. Everyone assumed that I must love hot, sunny days and would be freezing to death as soon as temperatures dropped below 20°C, which is not true at all. And everyone assumed that I had never seen snow in my life. Wrong again. Most people are surprised to find out that there is snow in Tenerife; not too often and not too much, but there is definitely some snow nearly every year. And last year was quite a snowy year with some of the biggest snowfalls of the 21st century.

    I went to Tenerife on March 2016 and was totally amazed when I first glimpsed the island from the plane, as most of the centre was gleaming white under the sun. There was snow. A lot of snow. A week later I drove to the National Park of Las Cañadas del Teide and there was still some snow on the north side of the mountains and valleys (a lot of snow had already melted within that week as temperatures went back to their subtropical normality). It was quite a joy, I can tell you. I love snow anywhere, but there's something very special about seeing your beautiful home island blanketed in white.

    In fact, there are many special things about Tenerife. There are many stories I could tell you and I might obligue in future footprints. But until then, enjoy the snowy view.
    Read more