Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 99

    Day 99: Sleeping

    September 22, 2016 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    After getting to bed at 4am that morning, we had nothing planned for today and we definitely delivered on that. We first woke up at 9am when our breakfast was delivered (this hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but breakfast gets delivered to your room), so I grabbed our food and immediately went straight back to sleep. Shandos ate hers, but I don't know when as I slept until about 11:30.

    Woke up, ate a bit of my breakfast (spicy mi goreng, so I didn't have much!) and then stuffed around on the internet for a few hours. Shandos decided to head out shopping so she left early afternoon, while I went out to the nearby Muslim restaurant hoping for a naan or something to tide me over until dinner. Unfortunately they don't do naan or any of the other flatbreads until after 6pm, so I ended up just picking something at random which turned out to be an enormous plate of tandoori chicken, briyani rice, hardboiled eggs and pickled cabbage. So much for a small bite to eat!

    We spent the rest of the afternoon dozing and relaxing in the room, and headed out to Bukit Bintang for dinner & drinks around 6:30. This is the bar area where we'd stayed during our 2015 trip to KL. Had a couple of pints at a random bar (there's a 100m stretch with probably 30 bars to choose from), then walked over to Jalan Alor for some street food dinner. Shandos had a garlic pork stir fry and I just had some satay chicken skewers as I was still stuffed full from my huge late lunch.

    After dinner we wandered around the nearby shopping malls which were of course all still open and very busy. Bought a pair of shorts at Uniqlo, though skipped on buying any new shirts since they only stock Asian sizes that don't fit me.

    Back to the hotel around 10pm; check-out tomorrow and I think we'll be heading north to check out the northern peninsula area of Malaysia - some nice hills and mountains apparently!
    Read more