Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Spending the day in Seldovia

    July 30, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    Okay, i am so sorry for all my family in Fresno, but we had another beautiful day in Alaska! Gosh darn I wish I had worn my short sleeve t shirt instead of my long sleeve t shirt because it was almost 76 degrees in Seldovia, and that can be warm, except for the ocean breeze! (I have to tease a little) Seriously, we have been absolutely blessed with the weather and sunshine we have had the last several days! I know we will be driving back into some very warm days coming home through BC and in the states, but right now I get to luxuriate in awesome cool weather!

    Today we booked another boat trip because why wouldn't we want to be on the water on a gorgeous day? Boat tour took us by Gull Island, thru Eldred Passage, landing on the south side of Kachemak bay in Seldovia. No whales or sea lions, but we did get to motor by 3 different "rafts" of otters! A raft is a large group of these guys all floating together, like two dozen or more...i have seen one or two single otters, maybe half a dozen together, but I can't remember ever seeing a raft of otters! And we went by three of them!

    Seldovia is a little town that is only accessible via boat or plane. But it is fairly well built up, post office, restaurants, shops, grocery store, businesses...with cars, and trucks, just like you would see in a remote village. Many are probably closed in the winter. Enjoyed lunch on the harbor (more fish) and then walked the historic district, where a number of the homes are built on pilings over the slough... very picturesque! But not sure I want to live this remote!

    Got back to Homer about 5 p.m. and took the taxi back to the campground. Spent some time trying to get some pictures of the local eagle pair that will come pick up herring left out by the camp host. (He knows he is not supposed to and Cindy did chastise me...) very cool to see the speed they gain as they snatch the food! Meanwhile back to end of the day tasks, showers and laundry! Left over meatloaf and mash potatoes for dinner!

    Thank you Lord for a gorgeous day!
    Read more