Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 3- Shira 2 Camp to Barranco Camp

    February 13, 2023 in Tanzania

    Today was our introduction to the concept of “hike high sleep low”. The trail was a lot of ascents and descents and then the climb to the top of Lava Tower, which was a climb of over 700 meters. This was an acclimatization point so we needed to stay there for a bit. So we ate white lunch.
    Lava Tower is where some team members began to experience some altitude sickness. Branch, in particular, was looking pretty green and was not able to eat much. Others were experiencing headaches. I think almost everyone was experiencing some discomfort.
    We began the descent to Barranco Camp, which is when my head really began to pound. The path was very rocky. At one point I slipped on a stone under my heel and fell. A short time later the heel of my shoe got caught on something and down I went again. My new mantra? “Shoot me now!”
    It was at this point, ladies and gentlemen, that I took on the reputation of the team member with “special needs”. From this point on, there was always a guide in very close proximity. This was also the point at which I started to rank my days according to number of falls/number of cries. By the time we got to camp I was 2 and 3.
    Took a couple of Advils, dried my tears, and got on with the day
    I am noticing that Cynthia appears to be doing much better with the altitude than I am. Although she sometimes gripes to me about how hard and “unfun” this is, she generally has a very positive and fun attitude with the team. The girl’s a real trooper!
    We are in the Barranco Camp today at the foot of the imposing Barranco Wall which we tackle first thing in the morning.
    Read more