Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Endingen - Lengnau

    September 23, 2023 in Switzerland ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    Saturday, we honored my ancestors.

    The towns of Endingen and Lengnau were once home to all the Jews of Switzerland. They were not ghettos in the usual sense of the word. . Jews and Christians lived together in these towns, though Jews were prohibited from owning property and could only work in specific professions until 1868, when Switzerland ended its restrictions..

    Both Synagogues remain and are cared for, as is the Jewish Cemetery located between the two towns. There are very few Jewish families in these towns today.

    While I didn’t find my direct ancestors, I felt that I was with family. All around me were familiar names: Guggenheim, Bloch, Moos, Dreyfuss, Bollag. A community. Their lives were hard and they lived with conviction, integrity, and love

    I prayed at the Synagogue and said Mourners Kaddish at the Cemetery. Because they chose to live in Switzerland, my family survived the Holocaust. I have my life because my great, great grandparents sent their daughters to the United States,.

    My heart is full of gratitude and respect for all of them. Their memories are a blessing.
    Read more