Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Days 3 & 4: Roncesvalles-Zubiri-Pamplona

    April 4 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 68 °F

    After the brutal walk to Roncesvalles, yesterday was a nice change. Still some uphill, but not unrelenting as before. But we all know that going down can be just as hard! The rock here is crazy- it literally cuts diagonal, so as you go down, you have to skirt rock edges. That was a tiring end to the longest day I’ve had yet (and the furthest I’ve ever carried a loaded pack- 13.4mi).

    Today was a slightly shorter walk to Pamplona. There was no breakfast or coffee available in Zubiri this morning, so the cafe just over 5 miles in was so welcome! I’m learning to take breaks that last longer than 3 minutes (always pushing to the end without adequate rest along the day is a big struggle for me). I’m still working on slowing down and not feeling like it’s a race with everyone else- this whole walk is about the journey after all! I’ve noticed that my body feels better when I walk a little slower.

    So far only one blister, but it’s making itself a bit of a nuisance. It’s growing, despite my best efforts. Muscles are sore, but not too painful. Finding food is a bit of a pain- I nearly cried when I saw the Greek yogurt and a gluten free section in the grocery store tonight. After eating Spanish food for the last couple weeks, it’s nice to have some variety. Dinner tonight was Burger King- I haven’t had a fast food burger in over a year, and boy did it hit the spot!

    Pamplona is the biggest place I’ve been so far on the Camino. It’s nice to have all of amenities of a city available.

    In an effort to make the walk easier, I mailed a package of some things ahead to pick up at a post office. Hopefully a lighter load tomorrow makes the walk easier. I’d been thinking of staying 2 nights in Pamplona, but the albergue I’m at is full tomorrow.

    I finally felt like being social and have met a lot of people! Tried my little French, kind of had a very basic convo in German. Lots of Aussies, Americans, Germans, Koreans, French, and many others.
    Read more