Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Carrión-San Nicolás-Bercianos-Reliegos

    April 25 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 57 °F

    First off, my feet are doing so much better. Thank you all for your prayers! While still tired and somewhat painful (especially a couple of new blisters), barring a new issue, I don’t think they’ll cut my walk short. I think this is the most days I’ve walked in a row without a rest day.

    Walking on the Spanish meseta, sometimes I forget where I am. It feels so familiar, so much like home. Until I walk over a small hill into a Spanish village or look north and see mountains (definitely don’t have those in Kansas!) It’s very evident that some of the villages are impoverished and likely wouldn’t exist if not for the Camino. In some places, cats far outnumber the children I see. There must’ve been a front blowing through- the wind was persistent and cold for a couple days before finally relenting. Feels like home!

    I’ve officially cross the halfway mark of the Camino. Yesterday I walked through Sahagún. Though it’s apparently a little past halfway, they claim the title and give out a certificate (for a few Euros). It’s crazy to think how far I’ve gone. In many ways I’ve settled into the routine of getting up, eat, walk, stop for coffee or food whenever available or when I desire, check into albergue, shower, laundry, groceries, sleep, repeat.

    So far today I’ve walked 363km since April 2, which is about 226 miles. I’ve bussed 45 miles thus far, though tomorrow I intend to take another bus about 15 miles into Leon- I’ve heard it’s a pretty boring walk. I’ve been amazed at what my body is capable of over the last few weeks. It’s a fun place to be. And at times when it’s hard, there are little notes of encouragement along the way (“que valiente eres”- how brave you are!)

    Just in the last few days I’ve started to think in terms of “when I finish the Camino” instead of “if I finish.” There are still hard days, but overall I’ve been enjoying myself. My mom encouraged me to let my mind rest- apparently it takes 3 weeks for me to get to that spot!
    Read more