Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Santiago de Compostela

    May 12 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    I made it. After 41 days of walking, resting, planning, changing said plans, worrying, hurting, meeting new friends. After restless nights, umpteen pilgrim meals, and pushing my body and mind in new way. I made it!

    With rain forecast for tomorrow and wanting to enjoy my last day, I decided to push a bit harder at the end. The casa rural where I stayed a couple nights ago gave me the best sleep I’ve had the whole Camino. So yesterday I walked 16 miles and felt good pretty much the whole time. Whenever that pesky muscle would start to flare up, I was at a spot and time for a break anyway. I found myself flying down the path and enjoying it. One last albergue stay last night, an early morning start because I always wake up earlier when I’m in a room with 16 strangers.

    Today my body forced me sometimes to go slower, which was ok for a last day. Then, after 12 miles today, nearly 500 since the start, and 41 days later I made it! I think it’ll take some time to sink in. For now I’m enjoying knowing that I don’t have to walk tomorrow, some Camino friends will arrive tomorrow and the next day, and I have time to rest.
    Read more