Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7–8

    Day 7 - Propieres to Le Cergne

    April 28 in France ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    Had a fab meal in Propieres - Simon went all out with an entrecôte steak!
    Simon sets a vignette….
    Having hobbled out of the restaurant for a post dinner cigarette I was already bracing myself to get through the noisy, busy bar. Which I did with just a few call-outs. Coming back through the bar, I was collared by a loud mouthed French dude, who proceeded to barrack me in front of his little gang as to Where are you from? Are you English? Then speak French, speak French…
    Unfortunately my head went to —-!
    After my 19 km walk, big steak and beer 😳 we proceeded into an awkward stand off where we all stood in silence. I nearly said ‘Bonjour’ - the only French word that came into my head - thank goodness I didn’t 😂
    The cocky French dude - let’s call him Luc - started barracking again and in my fatigued state I muttered ‘le fatigue’ and ‘Bon nuit’. Then I turned to make my escape to find myself trapped behind a large party of new customers making their way into the restaurant 🙄 and all I could hear bouncing off my back was ‘bye, bye English, bye, bye English’ and still I couldn’t think of one clever French phrase to say - not even ‘comment sa va?’ Having made it safely back to the table I must of looked harried as Mary looked up and said ‘you’ve been a twerp haven’t you?’ I sat down and said ‘Yes, I’m afraid so!’
    So onwards to today. The ponchos were out and on as it promised to be a wet day ahead! Wasn’t too bad actually main rain came half an hour before arriving at our destination. More mountains, pine forests and lovely views.
    A German mother and daughter also doing our route so we overtake them on a daily basis as they set off an hour before us. We are staying in same accommodation as them tonight again so may learn more about them over supper. 18+km completed today.
    P.s. Simon says his feet and legs are losing that ‘eczema’ look - which is nice 😊
    Read more