Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Rabanal to Molinaseca

    July 23, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Today was tough to put into words to adequately describe all of the walk. The pictures and videos will help some I hope. The mountainous path contained many sections of what I have lovingly named the monks whip after the catholic monks that will practice that sort of thing and made famous in the DaVinci Code. These are long sections of very rocky and uneven paths that relentlessly pound your feet. All that said it was the only part that wasn’t absolutely soul filling and breathtaking. After the first 7 kilometers we came to the iconic Cruz de Ferro. The tradition of the Cruz de Ferro is to bring along a rock from home, carry it with you, and leave it behind at the cross. The rock is to be a symbol or metaphor of your message to God. When I started this journey, this point in the trip did not hold much significance, but as with so many things on the Camino I now understand it is an important piece of what is the whole. This is the spiritually broken section of the Camino that is beautiful and full of symbolism as when we let go, we are then free to move forward. With my rock I leave behind my thanks for my amazing life and moving forward, my request for forgiveness, and prayers of healing for my father, a dear friend, and others I have met along the Camino. There are many things so worth holding onto in this life and so many we hold onto that we need to set free. Today, walking amongst beautiful purple flowers, mountains, and old villages was a blessing. All is well and keep on smiling.

    “The moment I let go of it.
    Was the moment I got more than I could handle.
    The moment I jumped off of it.
    Was the moment I touched down.”
    Read more