Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    To Cairns

    June 10, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    I have never been so excited to get on a plane to Queensland! I felt like I was going on a big adventure. Such is my covid cabin fever of not being able to travel overseas.
    But what a fantastic country to be trapped in!

    So in my usual style was running around like a mad person trying to finish off things at work and do a handover, organise the dog and make arrangements for mum while I am away.
    Dropped the dog off to board in a place that only takes small dogs. He looked sad and I felt terrible but when I rang later he had made a friends with a cavoddle puppy! Apparently the two of them had bonded and they were running around the garden together having a great time! So that was a relief.

    Next it was the all night packing session and then to the airport at 4am for a 6am flight. Needless to say went straight through and had alot of time to kill.
    Given the circumstances a chocolate croissant and a banana smoothie was the answer.

    Was exhausted from staying up all night so couldn't read or sleep on the flight. Then on landing quickly got to my hotel, got an early check in and collaped.
    In hindsight should have pushed myself to do something as there were alot of cloudy days that followed.

    Dinner was the worst nachos I have ever had. Thank god for all the gelato places.
    Read more